Search Speakers
By Topic
By Type
By Fee Range
$5k $100k+
To Search by Fees
Select Event Location

Polly LaBarre

Co-Author of Mavericks at Work, Founding Member of Fast Company Magazine, Director/Co-founder of MIX (Management Innovation eXchange)
  • Appeared in numerous publications, including Fast Company, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Harvard Business Review online and the McKinsey Quarterly
  • Sits on the board of advisors of TakingItGlobal, empowering young people to make a difference in the world
  • Reveals the most practical and high-impact ways for organizations to innovate, adapt, and succeed by emphasizing the importance of leadership, collaboration, engagement, and accountability
Topics & Types
InnovationHuman ResourcesLeadershipFemale Speakers

For more than 20 years, LaBarre has used her writing, business consulting, and speaking to help organizations unleash and organize human potential in ever more powerful ways.

Polly is a co-founder of the Management Lab, a “think-and-do” tank dedicated to rebooting management for the 21st century. Along with her partners at MLab (pronounced “M-Lab”), Polly has developed a pioneering method and platform for changing how large organizations change. They run large-scale, real-world experiments in “hacking management” to build the deep organizational capabilities crucial for thriving in a creative, disruptive world: adaptability, innovation, and inspiration.

In addition to running global “management hackathons,” MLab has also built the Management Innovation eXchange (MIX), the world’s largest community of management innovators, created a clearinghouse of management hacks and innovation stories, and launched a series of events.

Polly has traveled the world to study and work with the courageous contrarians, management mavericks, and pioneering progressives who are inventing the future of organizations and business.  While these are organizations of every stripe that hail from every realm of endeavor, they do share a common credo: that all change is against the rules; that the future belongs to the mavericks, the misfits, and the heretics daring enough to stand up to the status quo; that inspiring, unleashing, and amplifying human creativity, passion, and resourcefulness is the most important work of all; that the most winning organizations are animated by an utterly distinctive and deeply-felt point of view – a set of ideas with the power to fundamentally reshape the sense of what’s possible; that work is personal, values rule, freedom is a bigger game than power, and nobody wins unless everybody wins.

Early in her career, Polly was part of the founding team of Fast Company magazine.  There she played a central role in the remarkable success of a magazine that recast the conventional wisdom on power, competition, work, leadership, innovation, and change.  The magazine introduced the world to a new universe of organizations and leaders whose management models were as distinctive as their business models were disruptive.

Polly is the co-author of the award-winning book Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win, which was a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and BusinessWeek bestseller. Published in over 20 territories, Mavericks was a “Business Book of the Year” for the Financial Times, the Miami Herald, and The Economist, which called the book "a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great." CNN, CNBC, and GMA all created series around the book.

Polly’s writing has appeared in a variety of publications, including Fast Company, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Harvard Business Review online, Fortune.com, the McKinsey Quarterly, and she has served as business and innovation correspondent for CNN.  

Continue Reading »

Location/Travels from: ON
FEES
Local
$10,001 - $20,000*
US East
$10,001 - $20,000*
US West
$20,001 - $35,000*
Europe
Please Inquire
Asia
Please Inquire

* This specific fee falls within this range. Ranges are presented as a guideline only. Speaker fees are subject to change without notice.
For an exact quote, please contact your Leading Authorities representative.

Check Availability

Check Fees & Availability

Similar Speakers

Jonah Berger

Best-Selling Author and Expert on Why Things Catch On

Vivek Wadhwa
Futurist, Author, Emerging Technologies Expert; Carnegie Mellon University...
Salim Ismail
Chair of ExO Works, Best-Selling Author of Exponential Organizations, Former...

Need a Speaker for Your Next Event?

Get a custom list of top recommendations today.

or call 1-800-SPEAKER